Accessibility



We were honored to recieve the 2015 “Mattie Letham Community Leadership Excellence Award” from Aurora of Central New York for excellence in accessibility programing. This award is given to organizations who make outstanding contributions toward promoting independence and opportunity for people with sensory loss. Read More

Syracuse Stage is committed to making the theatre experience accessible to all by providing the following accommodations: ASL Interpretation, Audio Description, Audio Enhancement, Open Captioning, and Wheelchair Accessibility. For more information about these programs, please see below.

As a reminder, Syracuse Stage offers infrared hearing devices at all performances, for patrons with up to 70% hearing loss, and headsets can be reserved free of charge through the Box Office (315-443-3275) or at the Coat Room before curtain.

ASL Interpreted Performance Series:

An American Sign Language-Interpreted performance is offered for every production. For the most advantageous viewing, be sure to mention your interest in sign-interpretation when reserving tickets. Dates:

Noises Off: Saturday, September 22 at 3 PM
Possessing Harriet: Saturday, October 27 at 3 PM
Elf the Musical: Saturday, December 8 at 3 PM
Native Gardens: Saturday, February 23 at 3 PM
Pride and Prejudice: Saturday, March 30 at 3 PM
The Humans: Saturday, May 4 at 3 PM

Audio Description:

Audio Description is available upon request for a matinee performance of every production. A live narrator audio-describes for patrons who are blind or visually impaired. A pre-performance description of sets and costumes begins 30 minutes prior to curtain, and visual details are verbalized during the performance. To schedule an audio description please contact Joseph Whelan at 315-443-9839. When ordering tickets through the Box Office (315-443-3275) be sure to reserve a headset (at no extra cost). Requests must be made prior to the opening night performance of the show in order to allow for sufficient preparation time (typically 20 – 30 hours per show). Audio descriptions will usually be scheduled for the last Saturday matinee (3 PM) performance of a show, however, it may be possible to accommodate alternate dates.

Noises Off: Saturday, September 29 at 3 PM
Possessing Harriet: Saturday, November 3 at 3 PM
Elf the Musical: Saturday, December 8 at 3 PM
Native Gardens: Saturday, March 2 at 3 PM
Pride and Prejudice: Saturday, April 6 at 3 PM
The Humans: Saturday, May 11 at 3 PM

Audio Enhancement:

Syracuse Stage offers an infrared hearing system for patrons with up to 70% hearing loss. Headsets can be reserved free of charge through the Box Office (315-443-3275) or at the Coat Room before curtain.

Open Captioning:

Open Captioning is provided for one evening and two matinee performances of every production. A small screen, placed to the right side of the stage, displays text corresponding to the play's dialogue and other sounds. Open Captioning can be viewed from most seats in the theatre. However, for the most advantageous viewing, please contact the Box Office.

Noises Off:
Wednesday, September 19 at 2 PM
Saturday, September 29 at 8 PM
Sunday, September 30 at 2 PM

Possessing Harriet
Wednesday, October 24 at 2 PM
Saturday, November 3 at 8 PM
Sunday, November 4 at 2 PM

Elf the Musical
Wednesday, December 5 at 2 PM
Saturday, December 15 at 8 PM
Sunday, December 16 at 2 PM

Native Gardens:
Wednesday, February 20 at 2 PM
Saturday, March 2 at 8 PM
Sunday, March 3 at 2 PM

Pride and Prejudice
Wednesday, March 27 at 2 PM
Saturday, April 6 at 8 PM
Sunday, April 7 at 2 PM

The Humans
Wednesday, May 1 at 2 PM
Saturday, May 11 at 8 PM
Sunday, May 12 at 2 PM

Wheelchair Accessibility:

Syracuse Stage is wheelchair accessible. Please call the Box Office at 315-443-3275 to arrange wheelchair seating.

Relaxed / Sensory Friendly Performances:

Relaxed and Sensory Friendly performances provide a welcoming environment that lets all patrons express themselves freely without judgment or inhibition. These live theatre experiences invite and encourage individuals with autism, ADD, ADHD, dementia, and sensory sensitivities to enjoy the performance in a "shush-free" zone. 

Noises Off: Tuesday, September 25 at 7:30 PM
Elf the Musical: Saturday, December 30 at 3 PM
Pride and Prejudice: Tuesday, April 2 at 7:30 PM

All tickets for Relaxed / Sensory Friendly performances are $25 and include a 100% refund right up to the start of the show. Tickets can be reserved by calling the Box Office at 315-443-3275.

More information on accommodations made for Relaxed / Sensory Friendly performances

UPCOMING SHOWS & EVENTS

Past Shows