Young Playwrights Festival 

Each Spring, Syracuse Stage invites Central New York high school students to write original ten-minute plays and other performance pieces for entry into our annual Young Playwrights Festival contest. Our panel of theatrical and literary professionals evaluate each student’s play. Semifinalists are invited to a writing workshop at Syracuse Stage where their plays will be read and critiqued. Finalists will see their plays performance as staged readings by SU Drama students at the annual Young Playwrights Festival on May 1st, 2018 at 7 P.M. Each year is free and open to the public.

Now accepting entries. Plays must be postmarked by February 13th, 2018. For more information and the entry form, see the entry packet here (word) and here (pdf).


Nathaniel Archer, Kyle Hotaling, Mark Tallents, Molly Bankert, Shannon Birmingham, Greg Buckley, Anna Burnam, Scottie O’Bryan, Hadar Pepperstone, Noah Rigby, Emily Rivito  

"I just wanted to thank you so much for selecting my play, Winners and Losers to be read tonight at Syracuse Stage. It was an incredible experience. The actors were phenomenal, and seeing the whole thing come together was something that I'll never forget. I know a lot of work went into it on your end, and I'd like you to know that I'm truly grateful". - Matthew Preston, Senior, Christian Brothers Academy

Past Participants

Tell us what you're doing - college, major, recent writings? We'd love to hear from you! Contact Kate Laissle at 315-442-7755 or


Kate Laissle
Interim Director of Education


Past Winners

Young Playwrights Festival 2016

2016 Winners: "Not a Wasted Word"

Theodore Brill, Auburn High School, 11th grade, The Burrito Shop

Sir Dennis II, Christian Brothers Academy, 12th grade, The Effects

Francesca Giardine, Nottingham High School, 12th grade, Leaves of Sass

Breanna Neal, Liverpool High School, 11th grade, Blank or Black

Michale Schueler, Jamesville-Dewitt High School, 10th grade, Flight

Garrett Sirotkin, Liverpool High School, 10th grade, My Son

Kayden Vigneux, Liverpool High School, 11th grade, Buttons


2015 Winners: "The Right to Write"

Lauren Guinnip, Auburn High School, 12th grade, Dinner for Two

Teagan Todd, Marcellus Senior High School, 11th grade, Heads I Win, Tails You Lose

Kristina Bell, Jamesville-Dewitt High School, 10th grade, Meeting His Parents

Ronni Merriweather, Jamesville-Dewitt High School, 10th grade, 4:00 A.M.

David Siegel, Christian Brothers Academy, 12th grade, Memory Wipe

Sara Boyle, Christian Brothers Academy, 12th grade, The Hanging Lamp

Alexandra Landry, Liverpool High School, 10th grade, Everything to Lose

Jordyn Werfelmann, Liverpool High School, 10th grade, A World Unknown

Supported by



Past Shows