Accessibility



We were honored to recieve the 2015 “Mattie Letham Community Leadership Excellence Award” from Aurora of Central New York for excellence in accessibility programing. This award is given to organizations who make outstanding contributions toward promoting independence and opportunity for people with sensory loss. Read More

Syracuse Stage is committed to making the theatre experience accessible to all by providing the following accommodations: ASL Interpretation, Audio Description, Audio Enhancement, Open Captioning, and Wheelchair Accessibility. For more information about these programs, please see below.

As a reminder, Syracuse Stage offers infrared hearing devices at all performances, for patrons with up to 70% hearing loss, and headsets can be reserved free of charge through the Box Office (315-443-3275) or at the Coat Room before curtain.

ASL Interpreted Performance Series:

An American Sign Language-Interpreted performance is offered for every production. For the most advantageous viewing, be sure to mention your interest in sign-interpretation when reserving tickets. Dates:

Thoughts of a Colored Man: Saturday, September 14 at 2 PM

Twelve Angry Men: Saturday, October 19 at 2 PM

Disney's Beauty and the Beast: Saturday, December 7 at 2 PM

The Wolves: Saturday, February 1 at 2 PM

Amadeus: Saturday, March 21 at 2 PM

Once: Saturday, April 25 at 2 PM

Yoga Play: Saturday, June 6 at 2 PM

Audio Description:

Audio Description is available upon request for a matinee performance of every production. A live narrator audio-describes for patrons who are blind or visually impaired. A pre-performance description of sets and costumes begins 30 minutes prior to curtain, and visual details are verbalized during the performance. To schedule an audio description please contact Joseph Whelan at 315-443-9839. When ordering tickets through the Box Office (315-443-3275) be sure to reserve a headset (at no extra cost). Requests must be made prior to the opening night performance of the show in order to allow for sufficient preparation time (typically 20 – 30 hours per show). Audio descriptions will usually be scheduled for the last Saturday matinee (3 PM) performance of a show, however, it may be possible to accommodate alternate dates.

Thoughts of a Colored Man: Saturday, September 21 at 2:00 PM

Twelve Angry Men: Saturday, October 26 at 2:00 PM

Disney's Beauty and the Beast: Saturday, December 7 at 2:00 PM

The Wolves: Saturday, February 8 at 2:00 PM

Amadeus: Saturday, March 28 at 2:00 PM

Once: Saturday, May 2 at 2:00 PM

Yoga Play: Saturday, June 13 at 2:00 PM

Audio Enhancement:

Available at every performance. Syracuse Stage offers an infrared hearing system for patrons with up to 70% hearing loss. Headsets can be reserved free of charge through the Box Office (315-443-3275) or at the Coat Room before curtain.

Open Captioning:

Open Captioning is provided for one evening and two matinee performances of every production. A small screen, placed to the right side of the stage, displays text corresponding to the play's dialogue and other sounds. Open Captioning can be viewed from most seats in the theatre. However, for the most advantageous viewing, please contact the Box Office.

Thoughts of a Colored Man
Wednesday, September 11 at 2 PM

Saturday, September 21 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, September 22 at 2 PM

Twelve Angry Men
Wednesday, October 16 at 2 PM

Saturday, October 26 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, October 27 at 2 PM


Disney's Beauty and the Beast:
Wednesday, December 4 at 2 PM

Saturday, December 14 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, December 15 at 2 PM


The Wolves
Wednesday, January 29 at 2 PM

Saturday, February 8 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, February 9 at 2 PM

Amadeus
Wednesday, March 18 at 2 PM

Saturday, March 28 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, March 29 at 2 PM


Once
Wednesday, April 22 at 2 PM

Saturday, May 2 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, May 3 at 2 PM


Yoga Play
Wednesday, June 3 at 2 PM

Saturday, June 13 at 7:30 PM

Sunday, June 14 at 2 PM

Wheelchair Accessibility:

Syracuse Stage is wheelchair accessible. Please call the Box Office at 315-443-3275 to arrange wheelchair seating.

Relaxed / Sensory Friendly Performances:

Relaxed and Sensory Friendly performances provide a welcoming environment that lets all patrons express themselves freely without judgment or inhibition. These live theatre experiences invite and encourage individuals with autism, ADD, ADHD, dementia, and sensory sensitivities to enjoy the performance in a "shush-free" zone. 

Disney's Beauty and the Beast: Saturday, January 4 at 2:00 PM


All tickets for Relaxed / Sensory Friendly performances are $25 and include a 100% refund right up to the start of the show. Tickets can be reserved by calling the Box Office at 315-443-3275.

More information on accommodations made for Relaxed / Sensory Friendly performances

UPCOMING SHOWS & EVENTS

Past Shows